Tags

, , , , ,

Sorry for missing an update last month. I don’t think I have a good excuse, so all I can do is try better in the future, right?

March and April have been busy for me, relatively speaking, and I have seen this make a difference in my journey towards being healthier. I had a doctor’s appointment and a hearing for my disability, both of which stressed me out beforehand and caused me to lose sleep. I had heard about studies linking lack of sleep with weight gain, but I never expected that a mere three nights of insomnia would literally cause two to three pounds of weight gain! Each time I gained a couple or so pounds, even though I ate the same and my lack of exercise was the same. As soon as I got back to my regular sleep schedule, the weight started dropping again.  What this means to me is that I need to shift my sleep schedule so that daytime appointments (and garlic – ha!) aren’t something I fear.

Specifically, as of this morning, I am officially down 30 pounds since I started this in January. I have not managed to start exercising regularly, yet, so that is my goal for May. No matter how small, even if it’s just floor exercises and walking the halls, I want to do a little something every day. I have ten pounds to go before I reach my minimum weight loss goal, and I don’t think I’ll get there with diet alone. Also, as I said before, I need to build my strength and stamina.

Well, in the past, I only mentioned stamina. Last weekend proved to me that I need to build my strength up, too. Last week was C2E2, Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo. I had never been to a Comic Con before, so this was a whole new experience for me. I went with some friends on Friday and spent most of Saturday and Sunday doing my own thing. I had a blast! I’m just now coming out of recovery mode, though. There was so much walking, and so much noise, and so much excitement, and so little sleep, and I ate so much bad food, that I’m surprised I made it through the whole weekend.

On Friday, I got my picture taken with my friends, Jessiey and Danielle, with Sebastian Roché (General Hospital, Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals), we got his autograph, we attended his panel, we did some browsing through the vendor area, and attended a panel for SPN fans. It was a long day, but so much fun! I learned a lot about Sebastian at his panel that I didn’t know, like he spent six years as a teenager living on a boat with his family. He’s also very intelligent and well-educated, with opinions on just about everything, and has seen more of the world than I could ever dream of. He is who I wanted to be, once upon a time. Not afraid to just hike a trail or go backpacking through Europe, if you know what I mean. Alas, even when I was younger and healthier, I was never fearless enough to do those things. Now that I have less fear, I also have less ability, unfortunately. Who knows? Maybe some day I’ll be healthy enough to at least stroll through a park in Paris. It’s not exactly hiking through the Alps, but I’d be happy!

Photo op with Sebastian Roché

l-r Me, Jessiey, Sebastian Roché, Danielle

C2E2  2015 friends

l-r Jessiey, Me, Danielle

C2E2 2015 sign friends

l-r, Jessiey, Me, Danielle, Victoria

On Saturday, my highlights were chatting with Timothy Omundson (Galavant, Psych, Supernatural, Judging Amy, Xena) at the Thrilling Adventure Hour table (I need to find those podcasts, now, because I never heard of it before a few weeks ago), and chatting with Eoin Macken (Merlin, The Night Shift). Alas, I don’t have a picture of the King to prove I chatted with him, but I do have my photo op with Eoin!

Eoin Macken C2E2 2015

My photo op with Eoin Macken at C2E2 2015

What can I say about these two guys? They are both wonderful. Nice, sincere, willing to chat (if they don’t have a million other fans standing behind you in line), and both seemed genuinely happy to be there, interacting with fans. I got to chat with the King (Omundson) about his hair (and how I’ve loved him since his time on Xena) and his chances of coming back on SPN, and I got to chat with the Knight (Macken) about his book, and about t-shirt campaigns. (He asked about the shirt I was wearing, which sparked the conversation.) I have hope we’ll see a shirt campaign from him in the months to come!

My highlight on Sunday was my autograph and selfie with Jason Mewes (Mallrats, Clerks, Dogma, etc). I didn’t get to chat with him like I did everyone else, so I don’t have a great story, just his autograph and a picture. That’ll do!

C2E2 2015 Jason Mewes

Me with Jason Mewes at C2E2 2015

On Sunday, I mostly did panels, and when I was officially wiped out, I spent a few more minutes chatting with Eoin Macken (his autograph line was sadly empty and he was playing Magic with his helper) before my husband found me and got me home. On the way out, I got to meet a friend of a friend at the ALA table, though, which was surreal! The panels were all interesting, especially the two panels I attended about writing. Fiction writing is very different from anything I’ve ever attempted, so listening to professional writers talk about writing is fascinating to me. I got a free book from Wesley Chu during the second panel, so now I need to take the time to sit down and read it! I can’t wait!

All in all, it was a good weekend. My blisters developed blisters, and I had to tape up my feet on Sunday so I could even walk.

My poor feet

My poor feet Sunday morning

I spent Monday through Thursday this week sleeping and resting, only feeling vaguely awake yesterday and today. I still have tons of aches and pains, though, so I’m using my heating pad and doing a lot of stretching. Hopefully, I’ll be able to start the week on Monday with some floor exercises so I’m one step closer to my goal!

With that in mind, I’ll leave you with some random C2E2 2015 pics that I took!

10460443_10206793706310308_57566379778008442_n 10929945_10206793704470262_2251945115593495200_n 11050146_10206789501965202_4993312312799086786_n 11140349_10206789501125181_2984038736742255806_n 11182282_10206793678029601_7302657379083226004_n

