Tags

, ,

I just walked the halls here in my apartment building for the first time (something my Grandma did in the winter when she couldn’t walk outside), and holy crap on a cracker, am I out of shape. We have four floors here, we live by the stairs on one end of the third floor, and I went up one flight, walked the length of the hallway, then down one flight, walked the hallway, etc. You get the idea. By the time I got back to my apartment, I thought I was going to collapse just inside the front door. My lungs burned, my upper back ached (something which I have never been able to explain, so I assume it’s Fibromyalgia related), and my right hip and leg were singing with pain (osteoarthritis and a sore muscle that doesn’t want to heal). I can’t believe people get a high from exercising. I’m not feeling high right now; I’m feeling half dead.

 

I decided to do it because I had just gotten back from running an errand, so I was already dressed, and my weight loss this week has been less than fantastic. On Wednesday, I wanted to eat everything in sight, and almost did, and the scales have showed that. Also, I haven’t felt able to even do my floor exercises since that first attempt over a month ago. So, I figured, why not try just walking?

 

Cuz walking sucks, too, that’s why!

 

But I know I have to do it. I have to build up my stamina or I’m going to poop out Friday night at the Karaoke party, before most of the fun happens. If I don’t do it, I’ll miss out on both of the photo ops I paid too much money for, plus 2/3 of the panels and other activities.

 

Ugh. I really found a good carrot to dangle in front of myself, this time. Hopefully, I’ll throw some real clothes on again tomorrow and do it again.

 

In other news, as of this morning, I have lost 18 pounds, almost halfway to my goal. For anyone curious, I’m pretty much just counting calories, keeping in mind what foods keep me from getting hungry again right away. I’ve been eating lots of peanut butter, cottage cheese, and tuna fish. Like I said above, exercise has not been possible this month, with me spending at least 12 hours a day in bed, mostly sleeping. February is always a rough month for me, causing my highest pain and fatigue levels. I’m happy to report that my pain is very under control, so far, this winter. I have had occasional bouts of nerve pain in my mouth and hands, but nothing I couldn’t power through. My fatigue has been surprisingly worse than ever before, though, hence the sleeping. I can only assume that this is the Low Dose Naltrexone causing this change. I can handle sleeping all the time over being in crying pain, though, so I’m going to fight to keep this treatment going when I see a new doctor next week.

 

That’s it until next month! If you’re trying to do something similar, please leave your story in your comments!

 

How I feel after exercising

How I feel after exercising. Found this online somewhere a while ago. Credit to whoever it belongs to.

 

